Book page

Bulk-operation

Open Social Open Social • 23 October 2019

What is bulk-operation


Bulk operation is a powerful feature that allows event, group and site managers to perform an action on multiple entities simultaneously. 

As an event manager or group manager, you can manage the event enrollees and group members using bulk operations.  Site managers will also be able to perform bulk operations when managing the content, comments, members and groups of their community. 


Content management of the platform

 


Enrollment management of an event

 

How to bulk-operate

Bulk-operation in general consists of 2 steps:

  • Select the entities that the operation should apply to
  • Choose and execute the operation

 

Bulk-operation in people management


Extra features

For the interface of managing people of an event, group or the whole platform, we added a few extra features to make bulk operation more powerful:

Selection count

Selection count shows the number of people that have been selected. This is very useful when selecting people across different pages. 

Enrollment management of an event

 

People management of the platform

 

Select/deselect all

You can select/deselect all people/people on this page very easily as well. Below is an image that shows where to find all these functions. 

Enrollment management of an event

People management of the platform

 

Tips

These powerful features do come with a certain level of complexity. Below we would like to provide you with some tips specifically regarding managing people using bulk operation:

  • Clear selection first. When managing people of an event, group or the whole platform, please do clear the selection first by clicking on the ‘clear’ button because your previous selection might still be there on other pages. 
  • Manage one event or group at the same time. When managing people of events or groups, please make sure to finish the bulk operation for one event or group before starting a new one. It is because when you open the management interface of a new event or group, your selection on previous ones will be cleared to avoid mistakes. 
  • Only use the select all button to select all people. Due to the technical limitation, when all people are selected using the ‘select all’ button and some people are deselected, the selection count is not updated after the deselection correctly.  This is likely to cause confusion. We are working on improving this, but for now, it is safer to use the ‘select all’ button only when you only want to select all people.