Book page

Multiple Editors

Open Social Open Social • 25 April 2019

Multiple Editors

This page explains how the multiple editors feature works for regular users, content creators, and site managers.
 
Note: This feature is not part of the default Open Social product (basic/distro), but can be ordered as an extension module for Premium and Enterprise clients.


Easily work together on the same content 

 

This feature allows multiple users to edit the same piece of content. For example, when users want to prepare an event or activity together and need to work on the same content. Below, we have highlighted the most important information for each type of user. 
 

Basic


The Collaboration settings can be found in: 
 
                        Configuration  > Open Social settings > Collaboration settings

collaboration


Site Managers

Site managers can choose to enable collaborative editing for certain content types (see screenshot below). It’s enabled by default for Events and Topics.

settings

 

Content Creator


As a content creator, you can add single users and users of an entire group as co-editors. The content creator can select 'Group' or 'User' to add all users of a group or a single user using a dropdown menu. In the search box below the dropdown, you can start typing and search for a group or user.
 

editors

Note: The user that created the content has ownership and is the only one who can determine which users have access to the content.

 

Regular Users


In order to avoid multiple users editing at the same time, a content locking mechanism has been implemented. If a user is already editing the same piece of content, a text box appears at the top of the editing page to tell the user that the content is already being edited. This ensures that the content will not be overridden. 
 
The user that owns the lock has the ability to unlock the content by canceling or saving their changes. Additionally, site managers have the possibility to break the lock on any content.