Customized Content Access
This chapter explains how to create content that is only accessible for specific roles. To implement the settings it is necessary to have a Site manager (SM role).
Note: This feature is not part of the default Open Social product (basic/distro), but can be ordered as an extension module for Premium and Enterprise clients.
What is Customized Content Access?
The Customized Content Access feature allows a Site Manager (SM) to set up
- Custom User Roles - This feature allows the SM to create a new role with custom permissions.
- Custom Content visibility - This feature allows the SM to add a role as a visibility option to any entity (like content, groups, or events).
This way it is possible to make specific content only accessible for specified users that you want this content visible to.
For example, you can use it to create events that can be only seen and attended by Company employees. For this, the SM creates a new role that is called “Organization X employee”.
Then, they can create a custom content visibility that is called “Organization X only”. Now every time a user that has the custom role, creates a piece of content or adds an event, they can select “Organization X only” as a visibility option. This way only other users with that role can see the content.
How to set up a Customized Content Access
A SM can add a new role under People → Roles → *click* - Add a new role. OR directly add “/admin/people/roles/add” behind your platform URL.
Here, they can add the name for the role.
If the newly created role should be added as a visibility option, the SM has to check the checkbox under the role name (as shown in the image below).
The new roles permission are by default a copy of the permissions for normal Logged in User (LU). However, after the role has been added the SM can edit these permissions of this role in the role overview screen.